The RBS Group

Department of Chemistry,
3rd floor, Room No: 418-A
IIT Bombay,

Raghavan B. Sunoj

Institute Chair Professor and Convenor for High Performance Computing @ IITB
Contact Information
Department of Chemistry
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Powai, Mumbai 400076
Phone : 22-2576-7173
Fax :     22-2576-7152
e-mail : sunoj[at]

Academic Background :

Degree University/Institute Year
M.Sc. University of Kerala 1996
Ph.D Indian Institute of Science Bangalore 2001*
*Advisor : Professor J. Chandrasekhar

Professional Experience :

Employment University/Institute Year
Post Doctoral Research Associate The Ohio State University, Columbus 2001-2003
Assistant Professor IIT Bombay 2003
Associate Professor IIT Bombay 2007
Professor IIT Bombay 2012

Awards and Distinctions :

Editorial Board, 'WIREs Computational Molecular Science', a leading journal, published by Wiley (2018-).
Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of 'ACS Catalysis', a leading journal, published by the American Chemical Society (2018-).
IIT Bombay Research Award, 2017.
Prof. S. P. Sukhatme Excellence in Teaching Award, IIT Bombay, 2017.
Organizing Chair, 8th Asia Pacific Conference of Theoretical and Computational Chemistry, IIT Bombay, 2017.
Institute Chair Professor, June 2017- June 2020.
The 30th Annual Charles A. Coulson Lecture, The Center for Computational Quantum Chemistry and Department of Chemistry, University of Georgia, Athens, GA, USA (February, 2017).
Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of 'Organic Letters', a leading journal, published by the American Chemical Society (2017-2020).
Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, 2017.
A.V. Ramarao Research Foundation Prize Lecture, Javaharlal Nehru Center for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bangalore, 2017.
Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (leaders in the field), 2015.
Member of the Editorial Advisory Board, Resonance - Journal of Science Education, Published jointly by the Indian Academy of Sciences and Springer, 2013-2018.
Elected to the board of World Association of Theoretical and Computational Chemists (WATOC), 2014.
Chemical Research Society of India Bronze Medal (2014) in Recognition of the Contributions to Research in Chemistry.
A.V. Ramarao Research Foundation Young Scientist Award 2011.
Industrial Research and Consultancy (IRCC-IIT Bombay) Best Research Paper Award 2011
IIT Bombay 'Excellence in Teaching' Award 2009.
National Academy of Sciences India Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Award 2008.
IIT Bombay Young Investigator Award 2006.
Associateship of the Indian Academy of Sciences (IAS) Bangalore, 2006.
Indian National Science Academy (INSA) Medal for Young Scientist, 2006.
Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI) Young Scientist Award 2006
Best PhD thesis award, 2001, Department of Organic Chemistry, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
Gold Medallist in M. Sc. (Chemistry), 1996, University of Kerala.
K. R. Krishna Iyer Memorial Gold medal for outstanding academic achievements for the year 1996, University of Kerala.