-Phone Directory

Teaching Programs

The department of Chemistry has an excellent teaching programme. At the B.Tech level, the department offers laboratory and theory core courses covering basic concepts in various sub-discplines of chemistry (physical, inorganic, organic). Besides these, the department also routinely runs Chemistry minor and preparatory programmes.

The department offers a post higher secondary (10+2), five year Integrated Master's Programme in Chemistry where the students are selected through JEE. A two year post bachelor's MSc programme (four semesters) is also offered for post-BSc students with entrance through JAM.

Our M.Sc and Ph.D graduates are routinely placed at the best institutions including our own and have been inducted as faculty and scientists at prominent academic and research institutions worldwide with many coveted distinctions to their credit.

Number of courses 49
Number of faculty members 37
Total number of students 425
Number of Ph.D students 220
Number of M.Sc students 205

Research Activities

Publications per year                                                     116 ('03-'04)
                                                                                        103 ('04-'05)
                                                                                        104 ('05-'06)
                                                                                          84 ('06-'07)

J. Am. Chem. Soc., Angewandte Chemie, J. Chem. Phys., J. Phys. Chem, Inorg. Chem., J. Org. Chem., Organometallics, Chem. Comm., Chem. Rev., Acc. Chem. Res. etc.

Patents in recent years                                                  5+2+4

Fundings                                                                       INR 50 million

(from our own institute and DST, BRNS, DAE, DBT, CSIR, ONR (USA), Indo-UK, Indo-German, Indo-Australia etc.)

Research Facilities

Click here for more details.

Major Awards

Fellowship of Indian National Science Academy(FNA)           02
Fellowship of Indian Academy of Sciences (FASc)  06
Fellowship of National Academy of Sciences (FNASc) 03
Shanti  Swarup  Bhatnagar Award 01
Swarnjayanti Fellowship 02
C. V. Raman Award 01
M. N. Saha Award 01
DAE Young Scientist Award 02
B. M. Birla Science Award 03
Chemical Research Society Medals 04
AICTE Career Award  01
Scopus Young Scientist Award 01
INSA young scientist Award 02
Ramanna Fellowship Award 03
J.C Bose Fellowship 01